Just stopping in…with a brief sermon!

Hello Blog friends!

Today was a nice, lazy one for me. Yesterday we went to a wedding at 2 pm (oddly enough, on a Sunday!), so I only slept 4 hours after working all night Saturday night. Therefore, I slept until noon today!!! Afternoon was filled with picking up Emma and Aiden and taking him to the doctor for his 2 month vaccines and checkup. He is now 13 lbs. 2 oz, 22.5 in long (still a short fatty!). He did NOT like pain, which he has not had much experience with (can you blame the poor little guy?). Tylenol has helped him and he is sleeping soundly right now. It was so hard to hear his pitiful cries!

His experience with pain reminds me that we are not placed in this world to live comfortably and happily ever after without any hurts, disappointments, or pain (physical or otherwise). Because sin entered the world, we have to endure unpleasant and sometimes gut-wrenchingly painful events. People disappoint us and we disappoint others. We are sad, lonely, grieving, and mean to each other…we get sickness, cancers, heart ailments, arthritis…things wear out, break, get lost or stolen…you get the point. Imagine living for 80+ years here without any hope of it being any better than this. Is this “as good as it gets???” Thankfully NO!!! God has not put us here to endure these things alone, just counting the days until it is over, but to spend our days seeking Him, learning His ways, and knowing Him deeply, fully, and completely. The way to know God is to know His Word…the way to know His Word is to read it and memorize it. Then you will meet Jesus. Without Jesus, all of the hard things are even more difficult. With Him, there is hope and strength to endure, and joy in the process! There is a purpose to life, and a meaning for each of us, and true freedom from the bondage of this world…if we are His. Let us each seek Him today.

Open my eyes, that I may see

Glimpses of truth Thou hast for me;

Place in my hands the wonderful key,

That shall unclasp and set me free.

Silently now I wait for Thee,

Ready, my God, Thy will to see;

Open my eyes, illumine me,

Spirit divine!

–Clara H. Scott (1841-97)

A beautiful hymn that is fitting for each new day.

Bless you all!

Kathy

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Just stopping in…with a brief sermon!

  1. just stopping in to answer your comment. I’ll beback to read this late. I am FAMISHED and my dinner beeped in the microwave.
    I read “Three Cups of Tea”.It was about an Amrican mountain climber buildind schools in small mountain villiages in Pakastan. The beginning was good, but about half way through I got bored. it bacme political and reduntant. BUT all the other ladies LOVED IT!

Leave a Reply

