The Death of Mr. Coffee M100

Today was a sad day. I have been the proud owner of the very first model of Mr. Coffee ever made, model M100, for my entire marriage. It was a hand-me-down from my parents’ next-door neighbors. It literally consists of a water receptacle and a hot plate, and turns on when you plug it in. It sounds like something is dying when it perks, as it makes a groaning sound (always a conversation starter). Nothing fancy, but it makes great coffee. I have managed to keep it alive for all these years, even never breaking the carafe! But alas, today the original carafe broke into pieces. Bill had perched it on top of something and Emma knocked it off…an accident, but very sad! The Mr. Coffee machine still works, but there are no replacement carafes for it now. These were the shorter carafes, and now they are much taller. I will hunt on e-bay soon, but maybe I will have to break down and upgrade to a coffeepot that might actually have an on-off switch! Or, (gasp) a timer! I bet whatever it is, it won’t last 30+ years!

The pitiful remnants

The pitiful remnants

Ready for burial

Ready for burial

If you know where I can get a replacement, let me know.

In mourning, but dealing with it…

Kathy

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “The Death of Mr. Coffee M100

  1. Believe it or not, you may find this on ebay!!!! I did a search and came up with

    http://cgi.ebay.com/MR-COFFEE-10-Cup-Replacement-CARAFE-Pot-DECANTER-White_W0QQitemZ350094839549QQihZ022QQcategoryZ38251QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

    Not sure if that is the right size, but if you do a search, you may find it yet!

    Cora

  2. I did find one that is exactly like the broken one, and have bid on it. Wish me luck!
    Kathy

  3. Also go to your local thrift stores like Goodwill or Salvation Army. They may have them.

Leave a Reply

