Don’t you just love Watermelon?

I think that one of the best things about summer is watermelon. Now, I know that there are some of you somewhere out there who don’t like it, but I could eat it every day (as long as it is a good one). Seeds or no seeds – matters not to me! Sometimes I put salt on it, sometimes not…depends on my mood.

I would love to hear from you if you have a secret, magic or mysterious way to tell if a watermelon is ripe. My mother, who was born in the deep south in Louisiana (cajun country), told me that a cajun woman once taught her to pull a broom straw off a broom at the grocery store (or bring one from home), and lay the broom straw parallel on top of the watermelon. If it rotated to perpendicular, the watermelon was ripe.

Well, this method is supposedly miles ahead technologically from the “thump” method. I have also heard that the bee stings signify a sweet melon, but I haven’t been able to tell a bee sting from a poke from something else, so doesn’t work for me!

Send me your ideas for detecting a ripe melon. Let’s have some fun with this!

Here’s to watermelon juice running down your chin!

Kathy

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Don’t you just love Watermelon?

  1. I’ve never met a watermelon that I didn’t like!

    Smiles,
    Lea

  2. I am actually not one who likes watermelon! I know, I am weird! I wish i DID like watermelon!! Such a fun fruit!
    Thank you so much for your sweet comment on my blog!!! I really appreciate it! I hope you have a wonderful day! 🙂

Leave a Reply

