I was Mary Travers for a Night!!!!

No lie, I got to sing with Peter Yarrow from Peter, Paul and Mary, when he was at Barnes and Noble in Frisco a couple of weeks ago. He came to sign his new children’s book, Day is Done, and brought his guitar and sang with the audience too. He heard me singing, and asked me to come up and be Mary with him for Leavin’ on a Jet Plane. It was incredibly awesome, and touching too because Mary had died just 3 weeks prior to this evening. He even asked me to look at him while we were singing because that was what he and Mary always did. It was an amazing evening! I have a short video that was taken on a camera phone, but I also have pictures of me with Peter. He is such a kind, sweet person. He spent time with all the children that evening, reading and singing with them.

It was a once-in-a-lifetime event for me that I will never forget! I mean, I have been listening to PP&M my whole life!

Enjoy!

Kathy

Me with Peter Yarrow

I love hugs!

Peter Yarrow from Peter, Paul and Mary

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “I was Mary Travers for a Night!!!!

  1. Oh, Kathy, that is awesome beyond all awesomeness! Our entire family LOVES Peter,Paul,and Mary. I am so, so happy for you!!!

  2. Mark Chalupsky

    How exciting for you. I have followed them their whole career and did get to meet Peter many years ago. I have copied there guitar styles and can play most of their songs. I would love to play with Peter or Paul sometime! Their music has brought me great joy in insight and they will forever be in my heart!

Leave a Reply

